Ares Games

Thread: Manageable Size Group for Teaching

Default Manageable Size Group for Teaching

So I'm planning my first demonstration event. Here's the flier for the event:

The tables I'm at can easily handle about 8-12 players and planes I'd think. They're very big 40k tables.

Despite being a former teacher, I still wonder about optimal size for teaching board games since they tend to attract very kinesthetic learners (people who learn by doing). That means that group size matters for teaching.

I have two thoughts...

1 - Break the huge board into two small boards and make the groups 2 v 2 or 3 v 3 and teach each table separately while monitoring the other table's activities and answering questions.

2 - The second idea is to run everything in sorties where in the first group of 6 gets to play immediately and people cycle into the game and out of it so there are always experienced players and inexperienced players. I'll just handle the rotation based on when a player gets shot down.

Any thoughts?
    Last edited by sparty; 02-08-2010 at 17:15.

I've found it very useful to have everyone do a test maneuver while you demonstrate that same maneuver for first time players. If you have your decks sorted before the event, the maneuver you want everyone to do will be right on top for easy access. This only takes a min or two and everyone will have the hang of how actually moving the planes work. The rest of it, just explain as you go.

The flier looks great. I think that a group of six will work fine and Keith's comments are spot on. Get everyone to do a quick test manaeuver.

Have fun!!!
    Last edited by Bixby; 02-09-2010 at 06:31. Reason: spelling

The flier template has been uploaded to the files section.

I've actually got another template I'm working on that can be used for writing up scenarios that I'm just getting the final details done on at this point that's in the same kind of style.
    Last edited by sparty; 02-09-2010 at 09:58.