Ares Games

Thread: Is WoW Expensive

Users Country Flag

Name
    Steve
    Sorties Flown

Default Is WoW Expensive

I wanted to run this as a poll but couldn't work out how to. Either that or I don't have access rights.

Anyway, As I am very new to wargaming I may be completely wrong but I do think it's quite expensive. Here in the UK a basic game retails for £27.99, the cheapest miniature is £9.99 rising to £12.99 and the booster packs are also £9.99. If then you want the mats they're another £29.99 each. Of course it can be cheaper to get them off the internet but then you incur postage charges as well. I don't know how these prices compare with other places, bear in mind that for £1 we can currently get 1,13 Euro's or 1.63 USD.

Unlike many games, it's really as expensive as you feel the need to make it. If you feel the need to have everything, including all versions of all released modles, you're probably going to spend a couple hundred dollars a year to keep up with releases, but that can be easily scaled back of you decide you only need 1 or 2 of each model. And if you're not the type who feels you need to have everything, a couple of the base sets can set you up fairly nicely for about the cost of many board games these days.

And more importantly, there's no time pressure to buy everything at once, because it'll never be available again (like most collectible games). So, you can start with minimal investments and pace your spending at whatever rate seems best to you.

I'd say, compared to most collectible games, or most miniature wargames, you'll find that Wings of War is pretty darn cheap. That's my experience, anyway.

Compared to miniature figure wargaming no , all you need to get started is the basic box of cards ,rules etc and 2-4 planes

Quote Originally Posted by mosstrooper View Post
    Compared to miniature figure wargaming no , all you need to get started is the basic box of cards ,rules etc and 2-4 planes