Ares Games
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Was the SPAD S.XIII really as bad...

Default Was the SPAD S.XIII really as bad...

...as it is in the WoG game?

During the war, didn't it give the Fokker D.VII a run for its money? Or at least the RAF S.E.5a?

I am new to the game, but from what I could gather, the SPAD XIII can be very good in game if it is used as it was in real life, avoiding turn fights and focusing on hit and run tactics in straight lines, using its strengths : its speed and its ability to gain altitude. And being a bad turner, it prefers larger gaming area (at least 140 cm x 100 cm) or alternatively Immelmanns.

Here are two threads you most likely already know mentioning the strengths of the Spad XIII : here and here.

In my experience, the Spad is difficult to use in duels (and in small gaming areas) as the opponent focuses on chasing it, especially if he has a fast plane. Easier when there are more planes, because of 'teamwork' (whether one player flies two or more planes or there are actually several players per side) and as the Spad may take an enemy by surprise.

It seems to me it is a plane hard to master but with real strengths. Looking for advices on it.

Maybe what makes the Spad XIII hard to use in game is that WoG is a closed space (the table) which favours dogfights and good turners, while irl the Spad XIII excelled at surprising an enemy that could outnumber them, hitting and running.

My two cents. This is, of course, a beginner's point of view
    Last edited by Le Piaf; 03-08-2023 at 19:28.

Luc, those are good points, but the RAF S.E.5a has the same speed, and far more manueverability. The SPAD simply cannot compete.

I don’t know anything about the RAF S.E.5a but Wiki (I know…) states that, after initial improvements, it became as fast as the Spad. On the other hand, the Spad is known not to be very maneuverable. Don’t get me wrong : I am a fan of the Spad.