Ares Games

Thread: B-24 Liberators

Default B-24 Liberators

I awoke early this morning with a strange ache in my hands. Upon descending into the dining room I discovered the cause . . .

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20200417_220832.jpg 
Views:	88 
Size:	110.4 KB 
ID:	285668

Apparently my box of bombers I have been collecting for a few years got found by the elves . . .

Name:	20200417_220840.jpg 
Views:	88 
Size:	112.4 KB 
ID:	285669

Once opened, they were victims of a massive deconstruction project . . .

Name:	20200417_223136.jpg 
Views:	87 
Size:	84.2 KB 
ID:	285670

Split open like clams . . .

Name:	20200417_220849.jpg 
Views:	86 
Size:	87.4 KB 
ID:	285671

Sorted, re-proped, re-glazed . . .

Name:	20200417_223939.jpg 
Views:	89 
Size:	125.6 KB 
ID:	285672

Then evaluated for new cockpit and nose glazing . . .

Name:	20200418_082409.jpg 
Views:	93 
Size:	104.3 KB 
ID:	285673

Off to sleep off the madness of the night . . .

Name:	20200418_082421.jpg 
Views:	89 
Size:	100.2 KB 
ID:	285674

WHAT WAS I THINKING! Now I know why my hands and fingers hurt . . .

Wow! Are you going to try to do one of those thousand bomber raids?

I still have a few of these to work on. I'll be glued to this thread to see what you you and the elves come out with!

Wow. I've worked on a few of those Maisto Liberators. You did a great job taking them apart and putting them back together. These have much better factory paint jobs than the ones I collected.

David, I love your B-24 Madness thread with your B-24 air force of many colors. Wow!

David, your photos remind me the final battle scene from SW: Episode IX. Countless number of flying...things

that's a lorra lorra liberators

So after the LAST B-24 party, here is what I have learned:

1. Don't bother drilling the rivets.

2. Start with new birds. All this last batch came from grocery store and variety store toy sections. $4 ea.

3. Cut off landing gear flush. Prop blades too.