Ares Games

Thread: Buffalo Confusion

Default Buffalo Confusion

In looking over WGS Unofficial Aircraft V1.0, I notice that there are 3 entries for the RAF Buffalo, the 339E, the 339E-M, and the 339E-S, each with different game characteristics. This is the only place I have found these designations. Can anyone explain which is which, and specifically which was used in Malaya in 1941-2? Did the RAAF use the same version? My interest was only academic prior to this, but I have just acquired some Shapeways Buffaloes and now that action is imminent the issue has become critical.
    Thanks for your help.

I'm not a Stats Expert, but I found this:

AAR: PTO Pre-campaign scenario (Allies - 488th RNZAF - Singpore) 16 January 1942

There are some cards in the original post.

And this early card from pre-2012: WGS UK and Commonwealth planes By Max Headroom - Buffalo
    Mike
    "Flying is learning to throw yourself at the ground and miss" Douglas Adams
    "Wings of Glory won't skin your elbows and knees while practicing." OldGuy59

Thanks Mike, I appreciate your taking the time. Cards are very useful (Max is a treasure trove).

Sorry, this is my fault. The designations are partly Zoe Brain's notes of the various batches the UK got from Brewster.
    The whole sorry story of this plane is fascinating reading.
    Try: The Sorry Saga of the Brewster Buffalo: https://www.amazon.com/Sorry-Saga-Br...s%2C156&sr=1-2

Anyway, Here's a summery of her notes from discussions back in 2013:

B339E - RAF/RAAF Fuel starvation over 3000 metres, an extra 400 kg of armour, fire extinguishers, radio etc, a "1000hp" engine that usually delivered 700, all made this almost combat ineffective. Armoured and with self-sealing tanks.
    These represent the bulk of the Buffaloes in SE Asia.

B339E-M (mod) RAF stripped down version, with 1000hp engines that delivered nearly their rated hp. No armour. Fitted with self-sealing tanks.