Ares Games

Thread: Catch-22

matt56's Avatar May you forever fly in blue skies.
    Major

Users Country Flag

Name
    Matt
    Sorties Flown

Default Catch-22

I have always been a fan of Joseph Heller's novel Catch-22, which is based (to a greater or lesser degree) on his service in WW2 as a bombardier on B-25s in the Italian Campaign. In fact, as an English teacher, I taught the novel to my seniors in AP English Lit for years. A movie was made years ago (early 70s, I think?) that did a decent job of telling the novel's story, and now the TV streaming channel Hulu has a series, produced in part by George Clooney, of the novel.

I watched the first episode of the series this morning, and it's rather good The craziness of the novel and witty dialogue comes through well, and the B-25s look great on the ground and in the air.

For those of you who might be fans of the book, I highly recommend it to your attention. I see that a second episode is ready to be viewed - not sure how many they plan to do...should you choose to watch, I hope you enjoy it!

All the best,
    Matt

Thanks Matt! Is it available to the UK do you know?

When I get on line I see an ad for Catch 22. Have seen the movie many times and it is a great movie. I know Garfunkel (Simon& Grafunkel) was in the movie. Didn't know they made a new version of it. Have you read the book One to Count Cadence ?
    An ASA story

Quote Originally Posted by Rebel View Post
    Thanks Matt! Is it available to the UK do you know?
    Looks like it will air on Channel 4 Reg - no date found yet but soon I would imagine.

"He is wise who watches"

Major

Users Country Flag

Name
    Matt
    Sorties Flown

Glad to see you might have access to it soon, Dave and Reg I should have a chance to watch the second episode today or tomorrow sometime...