Ares Games

Thread: New Players advice WW2

Bazchenko

Default New Players advice WW2

Hi to all.
    I am new to this game, and interested in WW2.
    My intention is to start with the Battle of Briton box game.
    Any advice would be welcome....

Hi Baz, welcome to the 'Drome!

The Battle of Britain is the best starter for WW2, in that it contains the minis you need for play, and the most recently updated set of rules.
    It will allow you to play 2 on 2 dogfights with no further outlay.

When you have mastered the basics, add a Ju87 Stuka or two as targets; instead of an unrestricted dogfight, the action will gravitate towards them.
    If you can find a Bf.110 or two, they provide a different alternative to your Bf.109s, particularly with the rear gun.
    The Hurricanes are basically similar to the Spitfires, just a bit slower.

Some time in the first quarter of the New Year Ares are scheduled to release Do.17 and Ju.88 medium bombers - these will have multiple defensive guns, and will need to be tackled carefully.
    If you can find an He.111 (EXTREMELY rare!) in the meantime, practising attacking it will set you up perfectly for when the new planes are released.

Hope you have lots of fun with your new obsession!
    I laugh in the face of danger - then I hide until it goes away!

Welcome to the Aerodrome, Baz, from here near Norwich. As you explore this website, you will find that there is much here to add to your enjoyment of the game. Tim's advice is good. If you could be a little more specific about your location, you may find that there are other members in your area.

Hi again Baz.
    I can now formally welcome you on behalf of the Squadrons and pilots based here in the U.K. You will find plenty to keep you busy in the next few weeks. The advice the chaps have given you is exactly what I said to Captain Kiwi when he started WWII just prior to Christmas.
    Fly safe and watch your six.
    Rob.