Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Illegal maneuver question

  1. #1

    Default Illegal maneuver question

    The following situation came up in a game we played tonight. At this point my airplane had suffered engine damage and was required to play a stall once per turn. The following are the cards I choose in the order of play.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	SCAN1676.JPG 
Views:	28 
Size:	113.8 KB 
ID:	259048

    I didn't realize that I played two steep maneuvers in a row. Per the rules, the second card is replaced with a straight and I must draw an A damage card. However, the second card was my stall, which now means I made no stall during the turn.

    Did I make a second illegal maneuver and do I have to draw a second A damage card?
    So how many books are in your personal library?

  2. #2

    Default

    I reckon your third card would have to be replaced with a stall.

  3. #3

    Default

    That's a pickle Robert.
    Old school rules would have meant your plane fell out of the sky on two stalls (Andrea's preferred option!)
    Certainly think your last move is illegal as it should now be a stall - so you should take A damage again & a straight which puts you into a terminal loop...
    So you either have to leave it as is, imagine your engine roared into life for a couple of seconds and just take two A damage for the turn, or,
    take the two A cards & swap the last two cards round, or, use a spin out rule with a hope of recovery, or, take it your machine lost control and dropped from the sky like a stone...
    The rules can't cater for everything.

    "He is wise who watches"

  4. #4

    Default

    Is it a stall in the traditional sense (ie, the aircraft has lost lift) or just the fact it is a very short straight thereby signifying the engine isn’t producing enough power to drive the airplane forward as far and fast as it normally should? If so then swapping the “stall” into the last spot certainly seems to be within the spirit of the rules. (After the A damage card of course)

  5. #5

    Default

    Yes, I would replace the illegal stall with a straight (1 x A damage), then replace the second straight with a stall (no damage).

    If you were to repeat the mistake later on, I wouldn't be so generous!

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by flash View Post
    Old school rules would have meant your plane fell out of the sky on two stalls (Andrea's preferred option!)
    Ah... the good old days. I'm a fan of this option for WGF.

    Quote Originally Posted by flash View Post
    ...take the two A cards & swap the last two cards round...
    For WGS...? I 'd probably play it this way.



Similar Missions

  1. Maneuver deck question Noob alert!
    By Max Von Below in forum General Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-04-2015, 09:02
  2. Maneuver Deck Question
    By zenlizard in forum Rules Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-25-2015, 03:48
  3. P 38 lighting maneuver deck question
    By Gbear58 in forum Rules Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-28-2013, 02:38
  4. Unofficial Maneuver Deck Question
    By Gallo Rojo in forum General Discussions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-26-2012, 06:16
  5. maneuver question from newbie
    By WingWorm in forum General Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-24-2011, 15:01

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •