Ares Games

Thread: Comox Campaign 2018

Default Comox Campaign 2018

Well, it had to happen. I mean, I've been working at building a local playing group for five years.

Thursday, 28 December 2017, I sat down with two other players and test drove some new campaign rules. This was to be either the start of a new campaign, or a trial run. The core rules come from an undisclosed source, with some additions from other WoG rules and some other Campaigns on this site.

For the campaign, we decided to start with available models, and that let us start with some dogfighting in December of 1915. Using Fokker E.IIIs and Moraine-Saulnier N Types, we played three linked scenarios, using experienced and rookie pilots.

Scenes from the carnage provided by Shane [SkyGuy001], cause a certain Dopey Lizard forgot his phone and camera.

Using 15 December as the start date, we drew a Time Card that stated +2 Days, Change Initiative. So, Shane (flying for the RFC) passed the Initiative Token to me (flying for the Luftstreitkraft). I drew the first scenario as a Dogfight. We used two planes each, with a single ace and a rookie as pilots. My ace had Strong Constitution (drawn at random), and Shane picked Bullet Checker.

A Central Power rookie gets an RFC experienced pilot in his sights (Planes were not repainted, we just used available models):
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	536188909.jpg 
Views:	66 
Size:	123.7 KB 
ID:	238475
    Note: the Bullet Checker skill isn't much use in this situation.
    The end of this scenario was Shane's Ace's plane being shot down but landing in his own trenches, and his rookie retreating from the play area. The Destiny Card for Shane's Ace gave the "Landing" result, and the option of landing within one ruler's distance from the point of elimination allowed Shane to just reach his trench line. No injury, so the Ace was able to fly immediately, if the next scenario ended up being the same day.