Ares Games

Thread: Sopwith 1 1/2 Strutter - My first Incursion on Red Eagle Miniatures

Default Sopwith 1 1/2 Strutter - My first Incursion on Red Eagle Miniatures

This is a Red Eagle (ex Skytrex) metal Sopwith 1 1/2 Strutter.

I needed 2 for my solo campaign.

Although the wings are very thick I do like this miniature. It has personality.

Besides I had to paint them now.

Before the Ares miniatures are on market...

Or I would postpone.

As I've done with others...

I still have two Sopwith Triplanes to build and paint... And 200 WW2 planes...

Very nicely done. Will you be using the Bristol maneuver deck on these? I have never built a metal plane model before but I do have some on the way. I am curious, how durable do you think they are compared to the regular mini's? My fear is that they will not take a good accidental dropping like the plastic ones do, and with older hands you know that happens a lot.

Quote Originally Posted by Walter Nowotny View Post
    Very nicely done. Will you be using the Bristol maneuver deck on these?
    Are you referring to the Bristol Fighter? The F.2B uses the "S" deck and, according to the Unofficial Stats Committee, the Sopwith 1-1/2 Strutter should use a "V" deck... huh. That's the same as the Albatros D.I/D.II. Wonder if the 1-1/2 Strutter will still be using that...? Or will it get a new deck (or use a different, already published deck)?

Very nicely done. Will you be using the Bristol maneuver deck on these? I have never built a metal plane model before but I do have some on the way. I am curious, how durable do you think they are compared to the regular mini's? My fear is that they will not take a good accidental dropping like the plastic ones do, and with older hands you know that happens a lot.
    Thanks Jim.
    You must be more careful with the metal ones. But a good spray of varnish goes a long way.

I use the K deck for the Sopwith 1 1/2 Strut. At least it's what I have in the unofficial rules...