Ares Games

Thread: Which Lancaster

Durek

Question Which Lancaster

I'm new to the game and having a really hard time finding any real info about the WWII planes, the differences in the same planes... I'm looking to maybe get a Lancaster to compliment my Spitfire (Johnson).
    Is it a good choice and which Lancaster would be better?

Smile

Well I guess it depends if you want a dedicated Dambuster or a more general purpose Bomber.
    I think I would go for the normal Lanc if it was me.
    Do you have any German Aircraft to fly against & some mates to play your games with?

I noticed you posted this in the WW1 Rules Section when it would have been better to post in the WW2 section.
    Hopefully Eric (7eat51) will be able to move it for you.

Hi Jeremie! Let me first welcome you to the Aerodrome.

Assuming you want to purchase one of the heavy bomber special packs, you have two options:
    1. “Grog’s the Shot,” HM-Z, LM739, is an example of a typical Avro Lancaster flying night bombing missions over Germany in 1944 and 1945. LM739 undertook 60 operations plus five 'Manna' food drops and one 'Exodus' PoW repatriation.
    2. "Popsie," AJ-P, ED909/G, was one of the modified Avro Lancaster B Mk III Specials known as “Type 464 Provisioning” that took part in Operation Chastise (the bombing of the three major dams that provided water and power to the Ruhr industrial region in Germany: the Möhne, Eder and Sorpe) in May 1943.

This being the case, "Grog's the Shot" may be your best bet of the two, as this type of Lancaster would be representative of much of the Lancaster fleet.