Ares Games

Thread: Valom Kits - Request for recommendations for replacement of Struts

Default Valom Kits - Request for recommendations for replacement of Struts

Hello expert model makers

I'm a novice model maker and inspired by the amazing pictures on this great site (and because I'm on a very limited budget) I'm planning to attempt to build the following Valom planes (SE5a, Pup and Nieuport 17). They look great but the general consensus is the photo-etched parts are not suitable for a novice. Please can you post recommendations of what the struts should be replaced with? Please can you make the description precise as I'm not familiar with modelling.

Thanks in advance.

I use cut down paper clips Nicola.
    Rob.
    "Courage is the art of being the only one who knows you're scared to death."

Me too, on Reviresco kits, but I found the PE struts on the 4 Valom Fokker DVIIs I built to be ideal for the task.
    I haven't built any Entente Valoms yet, but soon will (once my "Fokker Frenzy" is over). I will post an update when I start them.

I've only made the D.VII and also found the supplied struts fine. If I was to use anything else I'd use 1mm brass rod and use a 2 pert resin glue.That would easily be strong enough.

Ian

I have built 4 x Sopwith Pups, 2 x Se5a 4 x Nieuports and used the original struts which are strong enough for the job.
    One bit of advice I would give is use a Pin Vice (small drill) to open up the indentations on the wings where the struts need to located, by doing this the Super Glue can pool inside the drilled out indentation, which allows you time to locate the strut and line it up before the glue sets.
    Hope this helps
    Neil

Now that I have finished my Pups, would anyone like me to write up a "How to" on the way I put mine together?
    Rob.

Yes, Kyte. I would appreciate a "How to" article on them.

Users Country Flag

Blog Entries
    Name
    Robin
    Sorties Flown