Ares Games

Thread: Flying with new players

Sparkomatic

Red face Flying with new players

Howdy Everyone, need some advice.
    I just received my copy of Famous Aces. I have limited experience with the game but a life long intrest in avation. My 11 yr. old son (very intrested in wargames - memoir '44 player) and wife (non-wargamer) are both intrested in playing. What should we do. I'm thinking that I should start off flying 2 planes and they each fly one. Which planes should they fly so they have the best chance of sucess. I want to have them maintain their intrest in playing. I'm also thinking of taking out the explosion cards from the damage deck. Any advice would be helpful.

It's a good idea to take out the explosion cards when introducing players to the game. It might even be worth ignoring the special damage results completely until they've got the basics down.

I'd suggest getting a pair of Albatros fighters for yourself and Camels for your rookie pilots if you want to give them an advantage (the Camel is much more manoeuverable). If they'd prefer the Central Powers side, give them Fokker DVIIs against SPAD XIIIs (DVIIs are very agile, SPADs are all about speed).

Von Deekin

Howdy, California! Wisconsin here.
    FIrst of all, with any newbie pilots I always remove the explosion cards. After all, if you want to keep them interested you don't want to see them shot down after the very first volley! The other thing I like to do is get them, (the newbies), into a historical battle, something that they might be able to relate to, ie; The Red Baron. (everyone's heard of him!) Give them a short amount of historical background & then let the battle begin. Also helps if you set the mood, ie; aerial sound effects playing in the backround.
    If you're going to play two aircraft make sure theirs are a superior 'bird' versus the ones your flying.
    Dozens of other ideas for you, but, try these first & let me know how it works.
    Later,
    Von Deekin