Ares Games

Thread: Dive speed bonus?

Users Country Flag

Blog Entries
    Name
    Barry
    Sorties Flown

Default Dive speed bonus?

I am new to Wings of Glory but have a 40-year background in aerial wargaming. Back in the 1970s and 1980s, my old wargames clubs used to use 1/72 WW1 and WW2 aircraft mounted on Meccano strips or pieces of dowel rod which had been marked out in inches for vertical height levels. The stands were moved for linear movement, cardboard turning circles of different diameters were used for turns and the aircraft could dive or climb down or up the poles. A typical WW1 aircraft moved 10 inches (100 mph) but lost one inch for each level climbed but gained two inches for each level dived. A dive of three levels (3,000 feet) gained about 6 inches or 60 mph.

One thing I have noticed with Wings of Glory is that there is no similar speed bonus in a dive. If an aircraft dives it will soon increase speed. A Spitfire will gain about 100 mph in a 1,000 foot dive (I asked a pilot) while a Consolidated Catalina pilot told me a Catalina gained about 50 mph over the same 1000 foot height drop.

I have been considering a WoG house rule that if an aircraft dives and sheds a complete peg in height, after the three cards have been played and before the next turn starts, the diving aircraft receives a fourth card (but no shooting). This fourth card can only be a straight move or the largest diameter of turn available to that type... so a Dr1 or Camel would not be able to play their tight turn cards.

Any thoughts?
    Last edited by 'Warspite'; 04-24-2013 at 02:16.

Think I have those old rule in some vintage Military Modelling mags - looked fantastic !
    I would say a whole move is a bit too much - maybe use a short straight stall card as a measure in conjunction with the dive card to represent the speed gain would be more in line with things (disregarding the steep part of it of course).

Users Country Flag

Blog Entries
    Name
    Barry