Ares Games
  • Upcoming Releases

To be confirmed.... WW1 Balloons due Q4 2022
  • Donations

If you like our website and want to give something back, you can make a donation.

Please select a preferred amount of the donation, and then click the poster image below.

Donation Amount
  • How to make custom cards in Photoshop: Part Une - the plane

Someone a while back was wondering if a ‘how-to’ could be produced to show how to make up custom cards for WoW in Photoshop (PS). Well, here we go.

Are you sitting comfortably? Then I'll begin.

First off, I have to say that I am not a big expert in PS, and a big ‘thanks’ goes to Alan (Max Headroom) for pointing me in the right direction. Secondly, I am sure that there are more elegant ways of doing some of the processes, but these worked for me. I am also assuming here that anyone attempting this also knows where to find the tools in the various menus. So, onward and upward.....

First, find yourself a suitable top-down plan. For the purpose of this exercise I have chosen a Sopwith Dolphin.

Check that the drawing is square by running the ruler tool along the top wing edge then selecting IMAGE>ROTATE CANVAS> ARBITRARY, then clicking OK. If the drawing is a bit blurry sharpen the image by selecting FILTER>SHARPEN>SHARPEN.