PDA

View Full Version : Difficulty removing planes form pakaging?

afilter
01-15-2010, 07:37
I bought two new Set3 planes last night (R.E. 8 and UFAG). They are packaged very well, but is it too much?

Upon trying to remove my R.E.8 the lower wing pulled away from the struts.:rolleyes: This is the second time this has happened to me mostly with the WWI planes.

I do not want to ruin the packaging, so it can be reused if I ever decide to sell my collection, but at the same time I do not want damaged minis because they are placed in there so tight.

I am not an engineer, but I would think the packaging tabs could be slightly smaller and still hold the mini securely. The second one I pushed the tab back with a hobby knife and it was still a tight fit getting the mini safely out.

The WWII planes are not as bad, but I did get a bent prop once because of the same issue.

Anyone else have this experience or thoughts on safely removing the planes?

Oberst Hajj
01-15-2010, 07:43
Yep, I think it happens to all of us. I lost the landing gear off a SPAD once and the top wing of another plane popped off a different time. I now just destroy the packaging. If I was to ever sell off my planes (a cold day in hell I know), I would just sell them in my foam trays anyways.

Scoop
01-15-2010, 07:48
Yeah, I experienced this in every packing but the Deluxe Set WWII. I use a Swiss-Army-Knife to push in the little plastic "bumps" (the gadget you use to make holes in belts, don't know the english word for that). It's a lot easier with the WWII planes than with the biplanes. In the Deluxe Set WWII they left the bumps away and put another plastic cover over the planes which works just fine. I think Nexus could leave the bumps at all, the planes are fixed all right without them.

SoldierSteve
01-15-2010, 08:21
Yes I had problems too recently although fortunately suffered no breakages. Perhaps if the makers read these comments they could consider them in future issues.

afilter