PDA

View Full Version : Which WoW "Base Game" for starters ???

MadMajor
11-25-2009, 18:16
Hey folks! As I mentioned in my Report for Duty post, I've played WoW a grand total of 2 times so far, and loved it! (I played a couple of dogfights with a few friends, using the Famous Aces base game.)

I really like the game, and am thinking about getting it for a friend for Christmas, and also possibly one for myself. I was wondering, though... which base game should I get?

(Unfortunately, I'm a rather penniless grad student, so buying several of the kits is not an option, at least not right away. I should also mention that my friend and I live in separate states, so there's not much advantage to buying different sets and playing together... we only see each other a couple of times a year. I should also mention that we're avid gamers, so complexity doesn't deter us. Although, we both like to play with our wives, who *do* tend to prefer simplicity in games....)

So, what should it be... Famous Aces, Watch Your Back, or one of the WWII kits?

From what I've seen here, perusing your forums and file downloads, I've learned that WYB contains target cards and two-seater planes, which I didn't experience playing with FA. Do they add a lot of fun to the gameplay, or do most of you just prefer single-seat-plane dogfights?

I also see that WYB has different movement decks than FA (EFGH, instead of ABCD). Are the dogfights very different with WYB decks as the FA decks?

It seems from what I've read here that the B damage deck (from WYB) is more severe than the A damage deck (from FA)... is that true? Worth considering?

If I could just get one booster deck (with either of the base kits), is there one worth recommending? Or how about the miniatures -- is it worth investing in a couple of those? (again, cost may be prohibitive...)

Finally -- is there a kit that tends to be better for just two people playing?