PDA

View Full Version : Albatross Family

Hamburger
09-15-2010, 15:05
Was the DIII Albatross any good? Were the 2 seaters better? Was the DVa as effective as a Fokker DR1? I am a noob to WWI airplanes, please enlighten me!

Coog
09-15-2010, 19:21
The Albatros DIII was a very good aircraft during the mid-war years when going up against aircraft such as the Nieuport 17 and DH2. They wreaked havoc on a lot of Allied aircraft. However when newer allied aircraft came out, like the Spad XIII, Sopwith Camel, and SE5, it was at a disadvantage. The Albatros DVa was not much of an improvement over the DIII. The Fokker Dr1 was much more maneuverable but also more fragile. It wasn't around long and both fighters started to be replaced by the Fokker DVII. The Fokker DVII was one of the best, if not the best fighter, of the war. But by the time of its arrival, the Allies were far too numerous and fate of Germany was already cast. The Albatros series of two seaters were decent aircraft but built for the roles of observation and some bombing, not engaging enemy fighters. This is a very basic overview and I recommend that you invest in a book or two about WWI aircraft to learn more. One of my favorites is Aircraft of World War I 1914-1918 by Jack Herris and Bob Pearson, but there are also a lot others out there. Check the thread on books. There are a lot of good ones listed there. Hope this helps.

AlgyLacey
09-16-2010, 01:36