PDA

View Full Version : First Patrol :)

Wolfbiter
09-09-2010, 09:00
France, November 1917

My dear family,

I can scarcely contain myself--I have flown my first patrol as a member of Jasta 11, and we returned victorious! I have just finished my report, and shall tell you all that took place.

As a new pilot, I have been assigned to fly an Albatros D.Va. While it lacks the nimbleness of the Fokker Dr.I flown by my wingman, Von Wittlow, it is a sturdy, capable aircraft and I am most pleased with its performance thus far, as seen yesterday during our engagement over the front lines.

Von Wittlow and I took off just before dawn, and spotted two Allied fighters--a Spad XIII and Sopwith Camel--flying south toward our lines. They immediately broke off in different directions as we engaged. I swung my Albatros around and came about on the Sopwith's tail, but my good fortune was immediately followed by rotten luck...my guns jammed on my first shot! I followed Von Wittlow's advice, however, and strove to keep calm. This was not easy, trying to maintain my position behind the Englishman while desperately trying to clear my guns with one hand!

The Sopwith and I made two zig-zagging passes at each other, narrowly avoiding collision twice! Sweat was drenching my hair beneath my flying helmet. During the second pass, the Sopwith lined me up in his sights, but missed me completely! I hope this account does not frighten Mother and Katarina unduly. It is a risky business we are in here, but I suppose Fortune wanted to balance things out for my earlier mishap with my weapons!