PDA

View Full Version : National Reporting for Duty

Rookie
03-29-2014, 09:32
I am new to WOG, and to tabletop gaming as a whole. I recently purchased the WWII rules and accessories and I'm wondering if anyone has any insight to what aircraft are the best to start with. :confused:

CdnFlyer
03-29-2014, 12:32
Hello Rookie and welcome to the drome'. Congrats on getting into the game, your gonna find it to be an awesome hobby and a very addictive one. I myself am WW1 flyer so I can't comment too much on which specific WW2 planes to get into, but I would imagine that starting off with some simple fighters would be best just to get the hang of things. Bombers usually have multiple firing arcs, which not overly complicated but can add some confusion. I would also look into which theater of combat interests you the most. Whether it be flying over pacific islands and shooting down Zeros or tangling with the Luftwaffe over the French countryside, you'll find a great variety of planes and scenarios no matter what theater you choose. The skies the limit as they say!

Baron Rolf
03-29-2014, 12:36
Welcome to the aerodrome DJ :thumbsup:

grumpybear
03-29-2014, 12:40
Hi from Alberta.

Flying Helmut
03-29-2014, 13:40
Welcome DJ, from Middlesex in the U.K.

Naharaht
03-31-2014, 08:50
Welcome to the Aerodrome, DJ, from here near Norwich in the United Kingdom.

If you have the WWII 'Rules and Accessories pack' then I am assuming that you wish to play the WWII version of the game.

I suggest that you start with single seat fighters. You may wish to stick to just one theatre of war.

The most recent releases for WWII were Mustangs, Nakajima Hayate's, Spitfire IX's and Focke Wulf 190D's. You can probably find some of those in shops or on-line. If you follow the 'Aerodrome Store' link the top of the page, you can see these and some of the other planes that are available.