PDA

View Full Version : Hello from sunny Adelaide

kawalski
08-16-2013, 21:51
Hello,

I thought it was about time for me to introduce myself. Like most of you I started playing Wings of War when in first came out (was it 05 or 06?). Friends showed me these beautifully painted aircraft & the rules system was not only easy to learn but fun as well but more importantly it "felt" right. Sure it wasn't the most complicated air simulation out there for the purists & it required fantasy flight to provide maneuver cards (I've never been a big fan of collectable card games) but my gaming group took to it straight away. We all bought aircraft & much fun & mayhem followed. Now personally while I enjoyed it I generally found it a bit of a beer & pretzels game, good for a few set pieces but with limited "campaign" appeal. Those campaign's we did play I found myself the victim of the "boom" card far too often, generally with little or no damage which took the shine of what was an otherwise fun game. So naturally after a period of time our enthusiasm for WoW waned & my gaming group moved onto other things. That was until recently when one of our group renewed our interest by bringing around a spanking new copy of the newly named Wings of Glory so we dusted of our old aircraft & took to the sky again where I proceeded to get shot down again just like I'd never left the game (how can you lose skills you never had). So my interest once again sparked this led me here.