PDA

View Full Version : Running a game. Be gentle, it's my first time.

Omegalazarus
03-20-2013, 07:18
This is where community shines.

I am running a game of SoG/WGF at my local historical game club next week. I know at least one person has played before and most or all of them know what it is. I am not sure of the skill level of them at this game, but they are used to playing games like Flames of War, Bolt Action, 40k, DBA etc. etc. so they are no strangers to rules.

From my son visiting, I aquired the other duel pack (MvR et al.) so I have -
My custom board with overlay(the size of two WoG mats) http://www.wingsofwar.org/forums/showthread.php?13682-Quick-Video-and-link-to-article-about-an-easy-DIY-game-board
Allies - 2 Camels, 1 Spad XIII, Br14 (A/A)
Central - 2 Dr.1, 2 Alby DV.a, Gotha bomber

Someone else may bring (should bring, but don't like to assume) some more planes.

Here is what I was thinking -

Run a bombing mission with the Germans trying to bomb two (B)AA gun positions with the Gotha. Field all my planes, with the notation that if the other planes arrive, I will switch out the allied two seater with a scout (for simplicity and because I don't think they are as 'fun' to fly).

Depending on how many people play, I will either moderate -OR- moderate AND run the bomber on a default course to hit the targets. (again, for simplicity and because it isn't that 'fun' to fly)

Rules are Standard (since these guys play lots of minis games) with Aiming. I normally play with tailing, but not sure if that is too complex. I am taking out the BOOM cards.

I have my 6 custom consoles made (which I will post here this week http://www.wingsofwar.org/forums/showthread.php?13460-Easy-Fix-WoG-Consoles) and 4 copies of the cheat sheets http://www.wingsofwar.org/forums/downloads.php?do=file&id=1212 that I put in the files section. I will try and make the two new consoles (from the new duel pack) ready as well.

Goal will be to bomb and get out/stop from being bombed.