PDA

View Full Version : RPPC Of a balloon buster Nieuport 16

Ritterton
03-08-2010, 22:54
http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z175/ritterton/OldPostCards/959Nieport.jpg

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z175/ritterton/OldPostCards/959NieportRocketsNos.jpg

Just thought that these might be of interest! Working to confirm that this is in fact N959 forced down in May 1916....more later.

R

SoldierSteve
03-09-2010, 01:43
Amazing Pictures. Do you know if the chap standing by the plane is the pilot?

The Blue Baron
03-09-2010, 01:44
I could imagine that it is the pilot who forced the plane down...

SoldierSteve
03-09-2010, 02:13
I could imagine that it is the pilot who forced the plane down...

That is certainly possible. However I do wonder if it's a 'tourist' photo. We all do it dont we? Wherever we go on holiday we get photographed beside things of interest and I certainly did that when I was a soldier too. (The picture of me on this site was taken when I was in Bosnia.) Although cameras would have been more of a rarity in WWI I expect it still happened to some extent.

The Blue Baron
03-09-2010, 05:36
Also üpossible. Let's wait what Rod will tell us.

Ritterton
03-09-2010, 19:04
Unfortunately mates, I don't know. The photo is of Adjutant Henri Reservant's Nieuport 16 that was forced down by artillery fire. This is another photo and what is interesting is that it is number 386/1 and the plane is numbered 386/2.

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z175/ritterton/OldPostCards/AllHopeisinVain.jpg

The downing of this plane was a big deal as this was one of a few planes rigged with the new rockets that were being deployed for one of the first times to shoot down the German DRACHENS.

Please note that there is an old German saying about all hope, or skill, being in vain when an angel .... but I wil let others fill that one in! :-)

sparty
03-09-2010, 20:04