PDA

View Full Version : I'm new to this!

deephorse
07-23-2012, 05:40
Hello everyone.

I am now in my 46th year of wargaming, but only ‘discovered’ WWI air warfare gaming a couple of months ago. Now this is going to be heresy to some/most of you, but it wasn’t via Wings of War. A friend introduced the group I play with to ‘Canvas Eagles’, and I have to say that I was hooked. Naturally I wanted some aircraft to go with this game and so discovered Wings of War/Glory miniatures.

Another of my faults is that I’m a collector, and having discovered that there were several series of WoW miniatures in existence I just had to try to obtain them all. But, as you know, I’m probably a little too late to fully achieve that ambition. Still, I’ve got all series 1 and 2, a couple of 3 and a good number of 4. I’ve also got the Revised Deluxe pack and the Ares bombers. So maybe one day? But they don’t sit in their boxes, all are used for play.

So if I don’t play WoW why am I here? Well your group looks like the best place to find news about the release of Ares’ product. Plus there’s a lot of information about modelling and the historical side of this hobby, about which I know very little at present.

So I’m looking forward to a happy and rewarding membership of The Aerodrome.

Thanks for having me,

Andrew

David Manley
07-23-2012, 05:43
Hi Andrew,

Welcome aboard, and I hope you enjoy the Aerodrome community. Don't worry about not using the rules. I'm half like you - I play WoW, but I've also written my own set of WW1 and WW2 (and modern) air rules which I also use.

grumpybear
07-23-2012, 05:55
Hi from Alberta

Willi Von Klugermann
07-23-2012, 06:10
Welcome Andrew. I still have a good number of extra series 3 if you're looking to round out your collection. Take a look at Willi's Wunderhaus in the For Sale section of the forum.

Boney10
07-23-2012, 06:14
Welcome Andrew, from Bristol, no doubt Ill see you in the mess :)

Blauer Baron
07-23-2012, 06:17