Ares Games

Thread: Just getting started, what to spend $100 on?

Default Just getting started, what to spend $100 on?

I am just getting started and don't know anything about WoW. What would you suggest I spend my first $100 on? Couple things that may influence your advice: I am interested in playing with the miniatures versus cards only. I'll probably want a balanced air force as I'll try to recruit (eventually) others to the game.Thanks in advance.

Default Starters

I would tell you to get the Revised Deluxe Edition of WOW. It has all you need plus four mintures.

Quote Originally Posted by bonelock View Post
    I am just getting started and don't know anything about WoW. What would you suggest I spend my first $100 on? Couple things that may influence your advice: I am interested in playing with the miniatures versus cards only. I'll probably want a balanced air force as I'll try to recruit (eventually) others to the game.Thanks in advance.
    okay, I'd still have $50-60 to spend. What next?

I'd start buying single miniatues starting with the scouts you don't get in Revised Deluxe:

Fokker D.VII (if you can find it)
    Sopwith Snipe
    SE5a
    Pfalz D.III
    Albatros D.III
    Nieuport 17

If you have anything left get a 2-seater for each side - I prefer the DH4 and the Rumpler.

Thumbs up

Welcome to the Drome Terry.

I would suggest looking at the game aids, that some of the talented people have made available on this site.

Regards Lucky.

I'd definitely start out with the Revised Deluxe Set, and then with the leftover go for additional mini's. However, I would suggest getting one or two of the two-seaters so you have additional options for game play. With the two-seaters you can play bombing or photo recon missions which you can't do with fighters only. Maybe pick up a DH.4 and a UFAG so you have one each for Allied and German. After the two-seaters try and score any of the following -

Fokker D.VII
    S.E.5a
    Snipe
    Albatros D.III