Ares Games

Thread: How do I start out?

Goggles24

Default How do I start out?

Hello all,
    I'm new to wings of glory and I was just looking for your opinions on how I should start out. Originally I was planning to just get one of the duel packs and start from there, but I read that it doesn't come with a full set of rules. Also I heard that the duel packs were more for people who want to just get a taste of it to see if they want to continue with the game. Being that I'm a huge fan of history and I love modeling and all that sorts of stuff, I've already predetermined that I'm going to stick with the game (how could I not, this looks awesome!). So here's my question, how do I go about getting setup? Should I get the WW1 rules and accessories pack and buy a couple planes in addition, or should I just start with the duel pack? And if I was to get to the rules and accessories pack what should my additional plane choices be?
    Any information would be awesome.
    Thanks!
    Last edited by Goggles24; 07-30-2015 at 21:15.

The starter packs* give you an abridged version of the full rules - more than enough to get started.
    Like you I bought the starter pack, but I also picked up another dozen or so aircraft and the full rules and accessories pack.
    I then proceeded to acquire all the Ares planes (and some of the old Nexus craft to fill in holes) over the next 6 months or so.
    Hadn't even tried it yet! (but I knew I was gonna like it ...)

Print off the Solo Rules (card version) and you'll be good to go. Play a 0ne-on-one of two-on-two to get the feel and you'll be hooked.

My name is Pete and I'm a Wings of War addict.

* when I said starter pack I meant the dual pack - the one with the Albatross and SPAD
    Last edited by Stumptonian; 07-31-2015 at 07:58. Reason: clarification

Goggles24