Ares Games

PetitBilbo's Blog

Airbrush turntable (easy and at no cost at all)

Rate this Entry
[QUOTE=petitbilbo;146968]Hi there,

I'm still learning how to use my airbrush (daunting task!) and up until now, when applying a base coat or painting details, I used a round cardboard piece to put the object on and turned it between two bursts of paint.
This was a less than perfect solution for my need to get the object in the right position.

So I searched at my FLKitS and FLGS and found "professional" airbrushing turntables from a variety of companies. But I loathe to pay up to €35 for an article that was used previously to put old style TV sets on! (I know, I'm cheap!)
I even looked at Ikea and found a "cheese plateau" for less than €5, but it seems too large and heavy for my needs.

I'm a modeller, I like to build stuff: let's find a solution at home!

[ATTACH=CONFIG]45993[/ATTACH]
This is my solution: two old CD or DVD spindles, a piece of discarded foam core and a tube that previously contained some incense sticks (mango if you must know!).
Oh yes! And some "ceramic grease" that's lying around my workspace since aeons and of which I don't even know where it comes from or what it's used for initially...

[ATTACH=CONFIG]45994[/ATTACH]
First, I have drawn two concentric circles on the foam core. The smaller being the same diameter as the spindle-base (just to know where it should be glued) and the second at the needed dimension for the turntable's... table.
Then I glued the spindle-base in place, taking care to get it as centred as possible, hence the first circle.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]45995[/ATTACH]
I then measured the total length of the two spindles' axles and cut the tube to the same length.
I glued the tube onto the axle of the main/top part.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]45996[/ATTACH]
Before I put the two spindles on top of each other, I lathered the bottom axle with the ceramic gease to ensure that the whole would turn smoothly.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]45997[/ATTACH]